9 March 2022
The below map shows Hotels In Farmington Utah
History of Farmington Utah
The city of Farmington, Utah has a long and rich history. It is situated in the northern part of Davis County and enjoys close proximity to Salt Lake City and the Wasatch Mountains. The city is known for its picturesque 19th century homes and buildings, as well as the historic Lagoon Amusement Park.
The first European settlers in the area arrived during the 1850s, when Mormon pioneers came to the area to farm and establish new communities. One early settler, James Jack, purchased land from a local Native American tribe called the Utes. A few years later, other families moved into the area and began cultivating crops such as wheat, rye and corn. In 1853, a Ute Indian chief named Wakara granted permission for more settlers to move into the area.
Settlers built a sawmill in 1859 on the banks of Bountiful's Mill Creek. Several years later, this mill would be moved to what is now known as Farmington. The town was called North Cottonwood at first because it was located in a cottonwood grove along the creek. Residents renamed it Farmington in 1868 when they discovered there was already another town with that name in Utah's Iron County.
Some credit the fertile soil and warm climate of Farmington to the town's success during its early days, but others say it was the water. Farmers needed a source of water if they were going to be successful in their endeavors and in 1847, William Tippetts dug the first irrigation ditch in Utah in Farmington. By 1849, more than 100 people were living in Farmington and in 1852, after a local Latter Day Saint ward was organized, Parley P. Pratt built an adobe meetinghouse as well as a schoolhouse for the children of the community. Today, one of Farmington's oldest buildings is that same adobe meetinghouse.
A dam was built on Farmington Creek in 1855 and by 1860, nearly 400 people lived in the area. The year 1862 brought many changes to Farmington when the railroad was discontinued and Brigham Young called for the settlement of Sanpete Valley. The following year, a railroad station was built at Kaysville Junction (now known as Lagoon) and many of Farmington's residents moved there instead. In 1870 a second LDS ward was organized and Cottonwood Elementary School District was established 5 years later.
Landmarks in Farmington Utah
Farmington, Utah is a beautiful town with a multitude of fun and interesting things to see and do. From the Legacy Highway to Station Park Shopping Center, Farmington has something for everyone. Here are some of the landmarks in Farmington that are worth the trip:
Farmington has many landmarks that you may not know about. One of these is the Farmington Pond which was created by the Farmington canal company in 1852. It's a beautiful spot to go fishing, canoeing or kayaking.
The Legacy Highway is a 17 mile stretch of highway that connects Davis County with Salt Lake County. The highway runs along the eastern side of the Wasatch Front and offers travelers stunning views of the Great Salt Lake, Antelope Island, and Traverse Mountain. The Legacy Highway also features gorgeous landscaping and art that was created by local artists.
Cherry Hill Water Park is located at 1225 North 200 West in Kaysville, Utah. The water park is located within Cherry Hill Resort, which features three 18-hole miniature golf courses, batting cages, bumper boats, go-karts, and an arcade in addition to the water park. Cherry Hill Water Park features a wave pool, lazy river, children's play area with mini slides, a four story tall waterslide tower with three waterslides, two tube slides and two body slides as well as two whirlpools and two diving boards.
Another landmark, aptly named â€œThe Landmark,â€ is an artificial rock climbing wall located on the campus of Davis High School. It was built in 2005 and can be used by anyone with proper training. Davis High School also has one of the few Olympic size swimming pools in Utah that is open to the community on certain days.
The Bountiful Temple, located in downtown Farmington, is another hidden gem. It's one of only eight temples that are currently operating and open to the public for tours and visits. The temple was dedicated in 1995 and was built by Henry Whittemore, who was later laid to rest inside its walls.